ID: 147340
grundig: 2100; Satellit 
17.Aug.07 06:32

Ross Hochstrasser (USA)
Articles: 24
Count of Thanks: 11
Ross Hochstrasser

Hello,

I would like to share an experience with all of you regarding repairs on a Satellit 2100, although this problem/solution will apply to all  old radios. I was recently reassembling my Satellit 2100 after doing some recapping and a transistor replacment (L.O. transistor on SW 3-10) when I noticed that LW,MW,SW1 andSW2 were completely silent. I  shotgun replaced the L.O. transistor here as well (being to lazy to troubleshoot the circuit!)  and the problem persisted. I was very  dissapointed as the radio played so well just minutes before. FM,SW3-10 still worked properly. For the next few hours I studied the schematic, tested components looked at waveforms on the scope,(there was clearly no local oscillator) even compared voltage readings with a working set to no avail. In utter desparation,  I decided that the only component I hadn't tested was the tuning condenser.I connected my digital ohmmeter to the leads which I disconnected from the switch assembly, and I measured 180 ohms. Rotating the shaft made no changes in the reading. I looked carefully at the stator  and rotor and could not understand the 180 ohms. Getting out the most powerful eye loupe I could find, I noticed a few strands of Dendrite (check Google for a definition if you don't know about dendrite) between the stator and frame. compressed air was then liberally applied and the 180 ohms dissapeared... Moral of the story: always clean your tuning condensers before wasting a day troubleshooting!! Good Luck, I hope this helps someone someday! Ross

To thank the Author because you find the post helpful or well done.

17.Aug.07 07:26

Omer Suleimanagich (USA)
Articles: 429
Count of Thanks: 6
Omer Suleimanagich

Ross, I thought you were out of the Satellit repair business!