sobell: Sobell 515p valve line up - incorrect?

ID: 503274
This article refers to the model: 515P (Sobell Ind., Slough)

? sobell: Sobell 515p valve line up - incorrect? 
15.Dec.18 18:50

David MacFarlane (GB)
Articles: 4
Count of Thanks: 4

Hi, I'm new to Rmorg, and not terribly sure if I am entering in the corresct fashion, nor indeed if anyone might get to see this, - fantastic and complex as the org is, but here goes -

I acquired a Sobell 515p some time ago, and have had difficulty in receiving stations on sw, mw or lw.

I tried adjusting the If's an tuning coils ever so slightly, bringing them back to where they were when I got no result.

I was about to inject signals as per textbook instruction, when I noticed that the valves seemed to be very different from the book diagrams.

The book says V1 to V5 respectively, are ECH81, EF41, EBC41, EL84 AND EZ40.

The line up in this old set is as follows - ECH81, EF89, EL84, EBF80 AND EZ80, Again, respectively V1 to V5.

I am not even sure that EL84 is in the right order, although in one of the sketches, V3 and V4 seemed to change places, which would allow EL94 to be correct.

The rest of the valves do not seem to figure, since EF41 and EBC41 are different bases.

I cannot see the similarity between EF89 and EF41, unless the bases have been swapped, but there is no evidence of this, and it seems an unlikely candidate. Can anyone help?

Dave.

To thank the Author because you find the post helpful or well done.

16.Dec.18 10:01
31 from 1042

Rolf Beckers (D)
Editor
Articles: 211
Count of Thanks: 3
Rolf Beckers

Dear David,