stern-sonn: 4680B; Weimar

ID: 296434
? stern-sonn: 4680B; Weimar 
29.Aug.12 20:54

Colin Thornton (GB)
Articles: 4
Count of Thanks: 4

Hi everyone, as i am very new to the world of valve radios,could i ask for some advice on a Weimar model 4680b radio please, I acquired this set which is a radio gram,and after doing a few safety tests found there was no sound, i have tried cleaning each valve, one at a time and have ordered a EL84 output valve/tube. as my electronics is very poor I think I might have to have it repaired by a repair shop, can any one suggest anything else that could be wrong please.

Kindest regards

Colin

To thank the Author because you find the post helpful or well done.

Faulty capacitor 
30.Aug.12 11:36
32 from 2552

Michael Watterson (IRL)
Editor
Articles: 1033
Count of Thanks: 3

common fault is the capacitor on grid of EL84 to the EABC80 triode's anode. It can cause the audio output transformer to burn out as well as wear the EL84 badly.

Maybe you could upload some photos to the model?

Stern-sonn:4680b 
30.Aug.12 12:27
40 from 2552

Colin Thornton (GB)

Thanks Michael, for your information if a new EL84 does not cure the problem, I will have to find a repair shop, will try to upload some photos of the set.

thanks

regards Colin

Always make basic tests before replacing a tube! 
30.Aug.12 13:09
50 from 2552

Michael Watterson (IRL)
Editor

I would not ever plug a new output valve into a radio of this age without checking the grid capacitor.

As an absolute minimum plug a  multimeter into the (red plus wire) grid (g1)  and (black minus wire) cathode (k) sockets of the emptied EL84 socket.  Power up the radio. If the voltage isn't zero the capacitor is faulty. With the EL84 in the socket and warmed up the g1 voltage will be -4 to -6V referenced to cathode, or zero volts to chassis.